New Trier Dems’ Endorsements For The March 2018 Democratic Primary

Thank you to everyone who attended and participated in New Trier Dems Endorsement Meeting! We had an energizing afternoon of grassroots politics and civic participation. We were very happy to welcome many new members as well as many familiar faces and friends.

A special thank you to all of our volunteers who made this event a success, and to all the candidates who took time out of their busy schedules to speak to our membership!

For New Trier Dems’ membership to endorse, a candidate had to receive at least 60% of the votes of all members present. Congratulations to all of the candidates who received our endorsement!

Here are our endorsements in the contested races for the March 2018 Democratic Primary: 

Illinois Governor
Daniel Biss

Illinois Attorney General
No Endorsement**

Illinois State Representative – 17th District
Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz

Cook County President
Toni Preckwinkle

Cook County Assessor
Fritz Kaegi

Cook County Treasurer
Maria Pappas

Cook County Board Commissioner for the 13th District
Larry Suffredin

**To be clear, “No Endorsement” means that we failed to reach 60% agreement of our membership to endorse. This result does not mean that we are unenthused about these candidates. On the contrary, this result reflects that we have many excellent candidates running for office and we simply failed to reach 60% agreement. Democrats will have a wonderful candidate who will fight for the citizens of Illinois no matter who eventually wins the Democratic Primary for Illinois Attorney General.

We also endorsed – by voice vote – the following Democratic candidates in uncontested primary races:

U.S. House of Representatives for the 9th District of Illinois
Jan Schakowsky

U.S. House of Representatives for the 10th District of Illinois
Brad Schneider

Illinois Secretary of State
Jesse White

Illinois Treasurer
Michael Frerichs

Illinois Comptroller
Susana Mendoza

Illinois State Senator – 9th District
Laura Fine

Illinois State Senator – 29th District
Julie Morrison

Illinois State Representative – 18th District
Robyn Gabel

Illinois State Representative – 58th District
Bob Morgan

Cook County Clerk
Karen Yarbrough

Cook County Sheriff
Tom Dart

Democratic State Central Committeeman
Mike Cabonargi

Cook County Board of Review Commissioner – 2nd District
Mike Cabonargi